Guest Lecturer

BAT-L
BAT-K
BAD-E
BAD-D
MAT-19
MAT-18
Dancer, teacher
BAT BAD MAT
BAT-L
BAT-K
BAD-E
BAD-D
MAT-19
MAT-18
Dancer, teacher
BAT BAD MAT

    Gabriel Schenker

    Gabriel Schenker was born in Washington D.C., USA, grew up in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and has lived in Brussels since 2004. He met dance at the age of 14, through Israeli folk dance. He decided at sixteen to make it his profession and after a year enjoying various types of classes, he joined the Deborah Colker company in Rio, as an apprentice and then a regular dancer for three years.

    He then flew to Europe to broaden his artistic horizons, and decided to study at PARTS Brussels where the varied program, including philosophy, shiatsu and creative workshops seduced him. After four years at PARTS, he co-founded the Busy Rocks collective, with which he created, performed and toured extensively until 2014. As a performer, Gabriel has also worked with choreographers Eleanor Bauer, Robin Jonsson, Doris Stelzer, Louise Vanneste, and Alexandra Bachzetsis, and in particular on a regular basis with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker/Rosas, and Thomas Hauert/ZOO. He completed Master's studies in Philosophy at the European Graduate School and in Anthropology at the KU Leuven.

    He is a certified Pilates instructor and has taught Pilates at Rosas, Zoo, P.A.R.T.S., and Manufacture in Lausanne. He also gives dance classes in different schools and dance centers. First as an assistant and then as an academic head, he has accompanied Thomas Hauert in the development and coordination of the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance at the Manufacture/Lausanne since its inception in 2014.

    Contact

Intervenant·e

BAT-L
BAT-K
BAD-E
BAD-D
MAT-19
MAT-18
Danseur, enseignant
BAT BAD MAT
BAT-L
BAT-K
BAD-E
BAD-D
MAT-19
MAT-18
Danseur, enseignant
BAT BAD MAT

    Gabriel Schenker

    Gabriel Schenker est né à Washington D.C. aux USA, a grandi à Rio de Janeiro au Brésil et vit depuis 2004 à Bruxelles. Il rencontre la danse à 14 ans, à travers la danse traditionnelle israélienne. Il décide à seize ans d'en faire son métier et après une année de cours variés, il rejoint la compagnie Deborah Colker à Rio, en tant qu'apprenti puis danseur régulier pendant trois ans.

    Il s'envole ensuite pour l'Europe afin d'élargir ses horizons artistiques, et décide alors d'étudier à P.A.R.T.S Bruxelles où le programme varié, incluant de la philosophie, du shiatsu et des ateliers créatifs le séduit. Après quatre années passées à P.A.R.T.S, il co-fonde le collectif Busy Rocks, avec lequel il crée, interprète et tourne intensivement jusqu'en 2014. En tant qu'interprète, Gabriel a également travaillé avec les chorégraphes Eleanor Bauer, Robin Jonsson, Doris Stelzer, Louise Vanneste, et Alexandra Bachzetsis, et en particulier de façon régulière avec Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker/Rosas, et Thomas Hauert/ZOO. Il a suivi également des études de Master en philosophie à la European Graduate School et en Anthropologie à la KU Leuven.

    Il est instructeur certifié de Pilates et a enseigné le Pilates à Rosas, Zoo, P.A.R.T.S., et Manufacture à Lausanne. Il donné également des cours de danse dans différentes écoles et centres de danse. D’abord comme assistant et ensuite comme responsable académique, il a accompagné Thomas Hauert dans le développement et la coordination du Bachelor in Contemporary Dance à La Manufacture depuis son origine en 2014.

    Contact