Guest Lecturer

MAT-19
Creative technologist designer
MAT R&D
MAT-19 Creative technologist designer
MAT R&D

    Andrew Sempere

    Andrew Sempere is a designer, developer and practice-based academic. He is from the USA but lives and works in Switzerland. His PhD is from EPFL (2015), his Master's degree is from the MIT Media Lab (MS 2003) and his undergraduate degree is from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (BFA 2001).

    In-between his master's degree and doctoral work, he spent twelve years working in design, software development and research including five years at the IBM Center for Social Software (2007-2012). His production code experience is primarily in database-driven web applications and native OSX desktop and iOS applications written in Objective-C. His design work focuses on user experience and interaction design in the context of performance and interactive environments. His academic research looks at the ways in which contemporary technologies have changed how we consume and produce culture.

    At The Manufacture, he is a researcher in residence and lecturer. He develops new technologies for stage production.

    He has also lectured at Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) and Geneva University of Art and Design (HEAD – Genève). He used to teach Computational Art at Harvard Extension. He co- founded the Feral Research Coalition and is a Trustee Emeritus of the Boston Awesome Foundation.

    You may have seen his artwork at: Fourth Moscow Biennale, Lausanne Les
    Urbaines Festival, Seattle Bumbershoot Music Festival, Siggraph 2002, Boston Cyberarts, 7th Manifestation Internationale Vidéo et Art Électronique in Quebec, or Version 2.0 festival at the Chicago Museum of Contemporary Art.

    Contact

      Andrew Sempere

      Events & Albums

      • 01.04.14
        -
        30.09.15

        01.04.2014 - 30.09.2015

        Hotel City

        Hotel City is a multimedia research project concerning the fragmentation of information in the early part of the 21st century.

      • 01.11.15
        -
        30.04.16

        01.11.2015 - 30.04.2016

        DS / PS

      • 01.01.12
        -
        31.01.15

        01.01.2012 - 31.01.2015

        Sinlab

        Towards an alliance between performing arts and sciences

        SINLAB is a research and experimentation space at the crossroads of artistic creation, scientific investigation and technological development.

Intervenant·e

MAT-19
Designer technologue créatif
MAT R&D
MAT-19 Designer technologue créatif
MAT R&D

    Andrew Sempere

    Andrew Sempere est un designer, développeur et chercheur. Il est originaire des États-Unis, mais vit et travaille en Suisse. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat de l'EPFL (2015), d'un master du MIT Media Lab (MS 2003) et d'un diplôme de premier cycle de la School of the Art Institute of Chicago (BFA 2001).

    Entre son master et son doctorat, il a passé douze ans à travailler dans le design, le développement de logiciels et la recherche, dont cinq ans au Centre IBM pour Social Software (2007-2012). Son expérience du code porte principalement sur les applications web basées sur des bases de données et les applications de bureau OSX et iOS natives écrites en Objective-C. Son travail de design se concentre sur l'expérience utilisateur et le design interactif, dans le contexte de la performance et des environnements interactifs. Ses recherches universitaires portent sur la manière dont les technologies contemporaines ont changé notre façon de consommer et de produire la culture.

    À La Manufacture, il est chercheur en résidence et intervenant. Il développe de nouvelles technologies pour la production scénique.

    Il a également enseigné à la Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) et à la Haute école d'art et de design de Genève (HEAD - Genève). Il a enseigné l'art informatique à la Harvard Extension. Il a co-fondé la Feral Research Coalition et est administrateur émérite de la Boston Awesome Foundation.

    Vous avez peut-être vu ses œuvres d'art à l'adresse suivante Quatrième Biennale de Moscou, Festival Les Urbaines à Lausanne, Seattle Bumbershoot Music Festival, Siggraph 2002, Boston Cyberarts, 7e Manifestation Internationale Vidéo et Art Électronique au Québec, ou encore le festival Version 2.0 au Chicago Museum of Contemporary Art.

    Contact

      Andrew Sempere

      Évènements & Albums

      • 01.04.14
        -
        30.09.15

        01.04.2014 - 30.09.2015

        Hotel City

        Hotel City est un projet de recherche création multimédia ancré dans un projet cinématographique aléatoire portant sur la question de la fragmentation de l’information au début du XXIème siècle.

      • 01.11.15
        -
        30.04.16

        01.11.2015 - 30.04.2016

        DS / PS

      • 01.01.12
        -
        31.01.15

        01.01.2012 - 31.01.2015

        Sinlab

        Vers une alliance entre arts de la scène et recherche scientifique

        SINLAB est un espace de recherche et d’expérimentation à la jonction de la création artistique, de l’investigation scientifique et du développement technologique.